Penalties for OWI Offenses

Penalties for OWI Offenses

What are the penalties for OWI first offense, second offense, and third offense in Indiana? 

An Operating a vehicle While under the Influence (OWI) is the same crime as Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in other states. This crime carries long-term consequences and heavy criminal and administrative penalties, and should be taken very seriously. The OWI charge limits the maximum amount of a driver’s Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) while operating a vehicle. This is often determined by a breathalyzer test on the side of the road or a blood or urine test. Indiana is an implied consent law state, which means drivers must submit to chemical testing used to determine your BAC or else face fines and an automatic suspension of their driver’s license.

What is the BAC limit in Indiana? 

Indiana has three levels of blood alcohol content to keep in mind. For someone who is under the age of 21, the blood alcohol limit is .02%. Someone 21 or older must have a blood alcohol content of under .08%, and someone who is operating a commercial vehicle must have a blood alcohol content of under .04%.

What are the penalties for a first, second, and third offense OWI?

First offense: The first offense of an OWI in Indiana includes up to 60 days in jail, fines from $500 to $5000 (not including court costs, surcharges, and other expenses), and up to a two-year suspension of your driver’s license.

Second offense: A second offense holds penalties of jail time from 5 days to up to three years, a $10,000 fine (not including court costs, surcharges, and other expenses), and a minimum of 180 days and up to 2 years of driver’s license suspension.

Third offense: A third offense can include from 10 days to 3 years in jail, up to $10,000 in fines, a minimum of one year and up to ten years of license suspension, and the use of an ignition interlock device.

Refusal to take chemical tests: The first offense of refusing to submit to BAC testing will result in a 1-year suspension of your driver’s license and 2 years for the second and third refusals.

Contact an Attorney

It is important to know how to act if you have been pulled over by police and charged with an OWI. Always remember that you have the right to stay silent and should do so until and unless your attorney is present. The Law Offices of Stanley E. Robison, specializes in drunk driving cases and performs rigorous investigations to provide the best defense to his clients. Contact us today at 812-945-3055 or fill out our online contact form.

Office Hours
9 A.M. - 5 P.M.